Monday, May 14, 2012

No more wheat, rye or barley (aka Gluten)! Now what?

Going gluten free has been a hot topic among several friends lately.  They wonder where they would even start.  So some of you might be wondering the same thing.  Let me share with you what I'm sharing with them...

Learning how to look for gluten in ingredients is a good place to start.  There are many names for gluten. Here is the list I have collected.

All-purpose flour
Barley
Bleached flour
Bran
Bread crumbs
Bulgar
Cake Flour
Cereal extract couscous
Cornstarch
Cracked wheat flour
Durum flour/wheat
Enriched flour
Farina
Gluten
Gelatinized starch
Graham crackers/crumbs
Graham flour
High-protein flour
High-gluten flour
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
Malt/malt syrup
Phosphated flour
Pastry flour
Modified food starch (FOUND IN LOTS OF PRODUCTS)
Modified starch
Protein
Rye
Semolina
Spelt
Starch
Unbleached flour
Vegetable gum
Vegetable starch
Vital gluten
Wheat
Wheat bran
Wheat germ
Wheat gluten
Wheat malt
Wheat starch
Whole wheat flour


Yikes!!!  That is a LONG list, isn't it?  Who knew there could be so many ingredients to be careful of.  I made several copies of this list handwritten onto index cards and laminated them (actually just used some packing tape I had around the house) so they would last.  One copy for my purse, so I had a reference in the grocery store, and one taped to the inside of a cupboard door to refer to when cooking.  Yes, I wrote really tiny to make them all fit ;)


No comments:

Post a Comment